SB 61 Action Alert

Posted almost 3 years ago by Robin Arends

DATE:  February 2, 2017


STATUS:  SB61 will be heard in the House Health & Human Services Committee on Tuesday, February 7th.  The SD State Medical Association, SD Academy of Family Physicians and the SD Chapter of American College of Physicians have activated their membership claiming that SB61 will eliminate team-based protocols & care between physicians and nurse practitioners / nurse midwives; this is false information! They are sending letters, making calls and having personal meetings with their lawmakers. Your help is needed NOW to share accurate information and to ask representatives to vote YES on SB 61!! 


What you can do, ACTIONS REQUESTED: 

  • Contact House HHS Committee members and your local Representatives NOW.  ASK for their support of SB61 to remove barriers to practice for CNPs and CNWs and improve access to health services, especially for rural areas and underserved populations. Thank the bill sponsors (they are listed below with asterisks by their names).
  • Attend a crackerbarrel on February 4, 2017… this weekend!  See the list below.
  • Communicate status of your lawmakers’ support or questions to us at:


Share accurate information, TALKING POINTS:

  • SB61 is brought on behalf of the SD Coalition for Advanced Practice Nurses, a broad coalition of nursing organizations in South Dakota and has broad statewide support from healthcare and community organizations. 
  • SB61 modernizes the SD’s Nurse Practice Act which hasn’t been updated since 1979 and aligns it with national standards for the regulation of Certified Nurse Practitioners (CNP) and Certified Nurse Midwives (CNW).
  • SB61 removes the physician collaborative agreement requirement for CNPs and CNWs to be licensed to practice in SD and aligns SD with its neighboring states which have no such contractual requirement for licensure.  SB61 is about an independent license, not independent practice. 
  • SB61 removes a significant barrier to the recruitment and retention of CNPs and CNWs to teach and practice in SD in order to meet the increased demand for our primary care workforce, especially in rural areas.
  • NO ONE PRACTICES INDEPENDENTLY. Collaboration remains a requirement of the CNP/CNW scope of practice and SB61 does not change that.  The legislation does NOT expand the scope of practice for CNPs or CNWs.
  • If Representatives have questions, let us know, we can help you get answers to them if needed, let us know…  



  • A written message is the most effective communication with legislatorsSee links to State Senators below.  Lawmakers’ home address, legislative email address and phone numbers can be found at:
  • If you don’t know your legislator, you can find it by putting in your address at:
  • Address your letter or email to:  Senator ____ or Representative _______. 
  • Reference bill number in the opening of your communication, e.g.SB61 – Advanced Practice Nurse Legislation
  • Your communication should include:
    • Your name and legislative district.  Lawmakers like to know when they are hearing from their constituents.
    • A personal message. Focus on the talking points in your own words. For example, describe who you are, where you practice, why this bill is important to you and your practice, situations you’ve encountered with recruitment or retention or patients’ access to care and how bill would help.  Stories are effective!
    • Ask them for their support of SB61!


ATTEND a Crackerbarrel on February 4, 2017!!  Locations:

Aberdeen -    10am - 12pm. Centennial Rooms /Northern State University

Belle Fourche  - 1 - 3pm   Belle Fourche Country Club

Huron   9am -   City Hall Commission Room

Rapid City    9 - 11am  South Dakota School of Mines New Classroom Building

Sioux Falls  -  10am  Ramada Hotel and Suites

Sturgis 8:30 - 10am Erksine Building

Yankton  10 - 11am   Avera Sacred Heart Pavilion


Below are links to House Health & Human Services Committee members & All House of Representatives

(*) Denotes Bill Sponsor


HOUSE HHS Committee


Campbell, Blaine "Chip"  *


Clark, Michael  *


Conzet, Kristin


DiSanto, Lynne


Haugaard, Steven


Heinemann, Leslie *  Vice Chair


Holmes, Thomas *


McCleerey, Steven


McPherson, Sean *


Rounds, Tim


Soli, Karen *


Steinhauer, Wayne  * Chair


York, Nancy





Ahlers, Dan

Anderson, David L

Bartels, Hugh M

Bartling, Julie  *

Beal, Arch

Bordeaux, Shawn

Brunner, Thomas J

Campbell, Blaine "Chip"   *

Carson, Lance

Chase, Roger D

Clark, Michael  *

Conzet, Kristin A

Dennert, Drew

DiSanto, Lynne

Duvall, Mary

Frye-Mueller, Julie

Glanzer, Bob

Goodwin, Tim

Gosch, Spencer

Greenfield, Lana

Haggar, Don  *

Haugaard, Steven G

Hawley, Spencer  *

Heinemann, Leslie J  *

Holmes, Thomas R  *

Howard, Taffy

Hunhoff, Jean M  ** LEAD

Jamison, Greg

Jensen, Kevin D

Johns, Timothy R  *

Johnson, David

Kaiser, Dan

Karr, Chris

Kettwig, Jason W

Lake, John A

Latterell, Isaac

Lesmeister, Oren L

Livermont, Steve

Lust, David

Marty, Sam

May, Elizabeth

McCleerey, Steven D

McPherson, Sean *

Mickelson, G. Mark

Mills, John

Otten, Herman

Peterson, Kent *

Peterson, Sue *

Pischke, Tom

Qualm, Lee *

Rasmussen, Nancy *

Reed, Tim 

Rhoden, Larry *

Ring, Ray

Rounds, Tim

Rozum, Tona *

Schaefer, James

Schoenfish, Kyle *

Smith, Jamie

Soli, Karen *

Steinhauer, Wayne H  *

Stevens, Mike

Tieszen, Craig *

Tulson, Burt

Turbiville, Charles M

Willadsen, Mark

Wismer, Susan

York, Nancy

Zikmund, Larry P



Below are links to Senators to send them a thank-you for their support.


Senate Members

Bolin, Jim 
Cammack, Gary L
Cronin, Justin R
Curd, R. Blake 
Ewing, Bob 
Frerichs, Jason E
Greenfield, Brock L *
Haverly, Terri 
Heinert, Troy 
Jensen, Phil   *
Kennedy, Craig 
Killer, Kevin 
Klumb, Joshua   *
Kolbeck, Jack 
Langer, Kris 
Maher, Ryan 
Monroe, Jeff 
Nelson, Stace 
Nesiba, Reynold F
Netherton, Jenna 
Novstrup, Al 
Otten, Ernie 
Partridge, Jeffrey D
Peters, Deb 
Rusch, Arthur L  *
Russell, Lance S
Soholt, Deb   *
Solano, Alan 
Stalzer, Jim 
Sutton, Billie H
Tapio, Neal   *
Tidemann, Larry 
White, Jim 
Wiik, John 
Youngberg, Jordan